Daytime Television

Posted on October 27, 2009

0


Radionette_TV_set I hate being sick. Last week I spent the entire week in bed with the flu. When I feel well and am running around like a chicken with its head cut off, a week in bed sounds heavenly. But when I’m sick, it’s no fun at all.

You’d think there’d be some consolations to being home and staying in bed – staying in your pj’s all day, eating soup, no one making demands on you. When I was little I loved to stay home with my Mom and watch the game shows and eat grilled cheese sandwiches and soup for lunch.

Now that I”m a grown-up, if I stay home sick I’m usually too sick to eat. I’m stuck with tv for company and my head usually hurts too much for me to read. While watching tv, I made an amazing discovery. Even with 500 satellite channels, there is still nothing on to watch during the daytime. Seemed like every channel I went to was selling something I didn’t need or want, or featured hysterical women berating the purported fathers of their children. I’m ashamed to say I got quite good and deciding if the man was or was not the father. Pehaps  I should get a job on the Maury Show as the human paternity tester. . .

Public Domain photo by Mahlum

Posted in: Lesson Plans