Roger Federer Forever

Posted on October 27, 2009

0


Federer_Cincinnati_(2007)spent most of the past week watching the Australian Open on the Tennis Channel. I wasn’t a tennis fan until I met my husband; I never understood people’s fascination with the game.

 

Then I started watching Roger Federer. I could not believe how unbelievably graceful the man was; his footwork was and is dazzling. His games looked as if they were choreographed by Twyla Tharp or George Balanchine. His precision and accuracy floored me. His looks in a suit didn’t hurt, either, nor did his Swiss citizenship. (My great-grandfather was from Switzerland.)

I was very surprised to see him cry at the end of the Australian Open this weekend; he usually seems so calm. He appeared to be completely disappointed with himself and his performance; I think he puts a tremendous amount of pressure on himself in every game.

Yet he still came across as incredibly classy and genuinely sweet. A real gentleman not ashamed to show his emotions. Federer Forever.

Photo by jtbarret; licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlik.


Posted in: Lesson Plans