I is for Ice Cream

Posted on November 4, 2009

0


Today I saw the three year old classes from preschool.  Since they were studying the letter “I”, I based this week’s storytime on ice cream.  Of course, now I’m experiencing  some serious ice cream cravings! 🙂

I is for Ice Cream!

I is for Ice Cream!

First we talked about ice cream, and then did a rhyme about our favorite flavors.  The majority of the class liked “pink” ice cream; one creative little boy said he liked “purple” ice cream.  I’m still trying to figure out what flavor that would be! 🙂

Next I recited “Little Miss Muffet”, but with a slight change of pace:

Little Miss Muffet

Sat on her Tuffet

Eating her chocolate ice cream

Along came a spider

And sat down beside her

And said, “Gimme some,or I’ll scream.”

When I got to the spider part, I pulled my hand from behind my back with my spider puppet on.  They really liked that part.  One boy even thought the spider was cute.

Next we read H.A. Rey’s Curious George Goes to the Ice Cream Shop. I always ask them to predict what they think the book will be about, based on the cover.  They thought George would probably drop the ice cream, and at the very least, get in some kind of trouble.  And they were right.

After that I did a flannel board rhyme about a giant ice cream cone with seven scoops.  I made a “cone” out of tan felt with crosshatch markings, and cut circles out of various colored pieces of felt to represent the scoops of ice cream.  Afterwards we counted the number of scoops.

They left with an ice cream coloring page, and copies of the various rhymes and fingerplays we’d acted out for their teachers.  As they were leaving, one of the teachers reminded them, “What do we say?”  and they all said “Thank You!”

I responded, “Thank you, because I really enjoy it!”  Two little boys said, “Me, too!”

I love that kind of feedback 🙂

Photo courtesy of D. Sharon Pruitt from Hill Air Force Base, Utah, USA via Creative Commons.

Posted in: Lesson Plans