How Did I End Up in Jane Eyre?

Posted on November 17, 2009

0


My all-time favorite novel is Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre.  When I first read this book in 7th grade I was curled up on my purple rug in my bedroom, in front of a heater.  I was immediately captivated by Jane’s horrible childhood, and her unbending sense of self.

Think she might be a librarian?

While I love the story, I never intended to become Jane Eyre.  But some days I certainly feel like her.

Being a librarian can be a lonely job, but not for the reasons you might be thinking.  I see a great number of students and teachers in my job as a school librarian.  I also teach scheduled classes, so I’ve learned to truly appreciate the quiet times when it’s just me in the library, cataloguing materials or planning lessons.

What makes me lonely is being the only librarian in my school.  I’m a one-woman operation; there isn’t anyone else in the school who truly understands what my job requires.

I write blogs, post to our faculty’s site, and collaborate with teachers daily.  But I’ve always felt like the governess in a Victorian novel; neither family nor servant, except I’m neither faculty nor staff. Hence the Jane Eyre vibes.

Oh, I’m definitely faculty, with as much teaching as I do.  But classroom teachers don’t always see it that way.  When they see my schedule and no classes listed, they automatically assume I have TONS of free time to just sit and read.  “I wish I had your job”, is a phrase I think all librarians have heard a little too often for comfort.

Yet I’m not considered staff, such as the school secretary, director of admissions, or marketing coordinator, either.

So I end up wishing for another librarian to talk to – to share the day’s activities, funny stories, annoying comments, and new ideas.  That’s where LM_NET comes in; this great bulletin board for librarians keeps me in touch with all the other school librarians out there in a wonderful way.

I’ve been posting to LM_NET since 1995; I’ve received so much help from my fellow librarians.  I hope I’ve been able to help a few of them as well.  I love answering queries and giving lesson plan suggestions.  And finding out I’m not the only Jane Eyre out there.

 

 

 

 

Painting by Rebecca Solomon (1832-1886). Painted c. 1851, exhibited at the Royal Academy 1854.

This is a faithful photographic reproduction of an original two-dimensional work of art. The work of art itself is in the public domain because its copyright has expired.

 

Posted in: Lesson Plans