P is for Penguin

Posted on February 10, 2010

0


 

P is for Penguins

Today was Pajama Day for my three-year old class; they were beyond adorable in their tiny little princess and Spongebob p.j.’s.  After they left the library, they were going back to their classroom to have pancakes.  Earlier they had popcorn and pretzels.  One boy brought his toy pig.  Figure out what letter they’re learning this week yet?

Since I love penguins, I decided to share penguins stories with them today.  We first talked about why they were wearing pajamas, and named other words that started with “p”.  Then we sang a song to the tune of “I’m a little teapot” about penguins:

          I’m a little penguin in the snow. (Hold hands up hand and flutter them down like snow)

          I slide on my tummy, to and fro. (Hold tummy, then rock to and fro)

          I eat the fish from the deep blue sea. (Mime eating, then make wave motions across with hand)

          I’m black and white, just look at me. (Point to self, then look around with hands as binoculars.)

Then we read A.J. Wood’s The Little Penguin.  They loved the beautiful illustrations. We finished up with another song “How Much is the That Penguin?”  sung to the tune of “How Much is that Doggie in the Window”:

          How much is that penguin in the window ( make a big rectangle with hands in front of face)

           The one in the black and white suit (hold hands as if on blazer lapels)

            How much is that penguin in the window? (same as first line)

            I do think that penguin’s SOOO cute! ( Point to self, then to penguin, then hug hands together.)

Finally I showed them how to walk like a penguin, and they exited the library in a line of little waddling three-year olds.  Beyond cute.  And beyond fun for me.

King Penguins (Aptenodytes patagonicus) at Edinburgh Zoo, taken by SeanMack with an Olympus C8080W.

Originally uploaded to en.wikipedia.org by the author.

[edit]Licensing

GNU head Permission is granted to copy, distribute and/or modify this document under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License, Version 1.2 or any later version published by the Free Software Foundation; with no Invariant Sections, no Front-Cover Texts, and no Back-Cover Texts. A copy of the license is included in the section entitled “GNU Free Documentation License“.
Posted in: Lesson Plans