No One Else Could Read This Book Like You Do!

Posted on March 8, 2010

0


 

Our Heroes???

 

First grade and I had a wonderful time this week learning about fairy tales.  First, I asked them what a fairy tale was.  They decided it was a short story, with magic and fairies in it.  I thought that was quite good, but did make sure they included other magical creatures, too, not just fairies and princesses.

We then watched and discussed a powerpoint I created on fairy tales.  They were introduced to the Brothers Grimm and Charles Perrault.  They found Mr. Perrault’s face rather daunting; maybe it was the long curly wig common to the 18th century?  

They were quite funny with the titles of the French fairy tales; while they didn’t know them in French, naturally, as soon as I showed them a picture of each tale they identified it easily.  They quite liked the sound of the French names, however.

Afterwards we began our study of my favorite fairy tale, “The Three Little Pigs”.  We read a translation by Mr. George Marshall that was quite close to the original German version.  The students loved his colorful illustrations and the rowdy text.  

Afterwards one of the girls came up to me, smiled, and said, “No one else could tell this story like you do.”  and gave me a huge smile.  I’ll keep those words in my heart forever.  

Illustration by L. Leslie Brooke, from The Golden Goose Book, Frederick Warne & Co., Ltd. 1905 From: http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/15661 also available at From: http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/18155

This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included with this eBook or online at http://www.gutenberg.net

Posted in: Lesson Plans