Are Books Obsolete?

Posted on June 6, 2010

1


I casually mentioned at a luncheon this week that a school in Florida was replacing their textbooks with ereaders.  My colleagues were not really excited about the idea; for them, books are much more pleasurable and personal.

I don’t like the ereaders I’ve seen so far, but I keep hoping they will improve.  Right now the flashing of the screen, the buttons to fiddle with, and having to click and drag and open boxes to make notations or highlight feels wrong.  But am I just too old school?  Will everything eventually be online or available as an ereader?  Do we want to read everything this way?

One of my favorite places to read is in a nice hot bubble bath.  I don’t think I’ll be taking an ereader in there with me anytime soon.  How about you?  Would you miss books if they were replaced completely with ereaders?  Or would you read more?  Please post your comments and thoughts; I’d love to hear from you!

Posted in: Lesson Plans