We Really Have Come a Long Way, Babies!

Posted on September 14, 2010

1


Remember those old Virginia Slim cigarette ads?  They all showed women in some old-fashioned  exploit contrasted with a modern woman and had the tagline, “You’ve come a long way, baby”.  These came to mine when I viewed this story from ABC News:

http://news.yahoo.com/video/us-15749625/different-generations-same-riddle-21861323;_ylt=Alp.SNQ1rCe9AUJ2WU9SCF2z174F;_ylu=X3oDMTE3Mm1laTlqBHBvcwMxBHNlYwNtb3N0LXBvcHVsYXIEc2xrA2RpZmZlcmVudGdlbg–

The story reminds us of the famous riddle told on “All in the Family” – A father and his son are in a car accident.  The father dies.  The boy is rushed to the hospital, where the head surgeon, upon viewing the patient, says, “I can’t operate on this patient; he’s my son.”  How is that possible?

I didn’t get the correct answer the first time I heard it, when it was originally aired on “All in the Family”.  In the 1980s it was repeated on “The Cosby Show”, and I remembered the answer.

ABC News took this fascinating idea a step farther, and gave the riddle to a group of 5th grade students in New York City.  I was very surprised to see that the vast majority of the students got the right answer!  And the ones who didn’t had a great second answer – the boy had two dad’s.  No, not a Dad and a StepDad, but two Dads who were gay.

I was so pleased with these results as I watched this story this morning.  In a world of “Post-feminism” and female chavinist pigs,  maybe all of the conciousness-raising of the 60’s and 70’s wasn’t in vain. after all.

Posted in: Lesson Plans