Labels Labels Labels

Posted on March 17, 2011

0


Last year I managed to go back and put AR labels on all of the books in the E section, a major undertaking, as well as half of the Fiction books.  So far this year I’ve completed the Fiction section, the Biography section, the 900 History section, and the 800 Literature section.

It’s been a lot of work so far, as each book has to be entered on the Renaissance Learning site to determine if there is an AR quiz available for it.  If yes the book is removed from the shelf, the quiz number, grade level, and points note inside the front of the book, and an appropriately-colored label attached.  Then it’s reshelved, and the process begins again with the next book.  And so on, and so on, and so on.

Sounds dreary, but I’m finding books I’ve forgotten we had.  I’m also getting new and exciting ideas for my library curriculum with all grades.  I hope to finish the rest of the non-fiction materials by the end of the school year, and possibly even our Young Adult Fiction and Non-Fiction sections.

 

Posted in: Lesson Plans