“You inspired me.”

Posted on September 1, 2010

7


Sign you're on the right track?

A student came into the library this morning and had to tell me something I had inspired him to do.  I’m thinking, “Great!  Now what have I done?”  When he was in 5th grade, his class and I completed an entire unit on the Appalachian Trail, also known as the AT.  We read a novel set on the AT, watched actual footage, and  researched hiking, food, gear, and everything else you’d need to know to hike this amazing 2,000+ mile trail.

So this summer when he was at Boy Scout camp up in North Carolina, he went whitewater rafting.  They happened to stop in a place on the river where the Appalachian Trail crossed over via a bridge.  This student, because of me, went over to several of the hikers who were sitting and drinking water and talked to them.  He was amazed at how nice they were, and how BIG their packs were.

One told him how he’d been hiking two weeks now, and had started down in Georgia.  He only hiked ten miles a day instead of 15 like most people, and he had hundreds of feet of mountains to climb on the way north.  But he highly recommended that my student hike the trail one day.

What a wonderful way to start my day!  And what a great way for a student to tie a seemingly theoretical lesson into real life.  Now I wonder if he’s been bitten by the AT bug?  He wouldn’t be the first!

This photo is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 1.0 Generic license.
Posted in: Lesson Plans